Current Leadership


Co-Artistic Directors in New York

 Co-Artistic Directors in Los Angeles


Executive Director for New York and Los Angeles
Deborah Dixon

West Coast General Manager
Helen Sanders

New York Studio Administrator
Kyle Rosenberg

The Actors Studio is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of members from both coasts.

Past Leadership

The Actors Studio is honored to have benefitted from the vision and leadership of some of the most renowned artists and craftsmen throughout the years.

Founders (1947)

Founding Artistic Director (1951 – 1981)

Presidents of The Actors Studio
Ellen Burstyn, Alec Baldwin, Al Pacino from 2017 to present
Ellen Burstyn, Harvey Keitel, Al Pacino from 1995 to 2017
Paul Newman from 1983 to 1995
Lee Strasberg from 1962 to 1981
Cheryl Crawford from 1947 to 1962
Elia Kazan from 1947 to 1962
Bobby Lewis from 1947 to 1948

Artistic Directors in New York
Beau Gravitte, 2017-2023
Ellen Burstyn, from 2008 to 2017
Martha Gehman, Javier Molina, 2023 – present
Co-Associate Artistic Directors
Elizabeth Kemp, 2010-2017
Jacqueline Knapp 2010-2015
Estelle Parsons 2015-present
Beau Gravitte 2015-2017
Carlin Glynn, Lee Grant from 2007 to 2008
Carlin Glynn, Lee Grant, Stephen Lang from 2004 to 2007
Estelle Parsons from 1998 to 2003
Arthur Penn from 1995 to 1998
Frank Corsaro from 1988 to 1995
Ellen Burstyn from 1983 to 1988
Ellen Burstyn & Al Pacino from 1981 to 1983
Lee Strasberg from 1951 to 1981

Artistic Directors in Los Angeles
Salome Jens & Katherine Cortez from 2023 to present
Salome Jens from 2022 to 2023
Martin Landau & Mark Rydell from 1990 to 2017
Salome Jens & Lou Antonio from 2017 to 2022

Co-Associate Artistic Directors
Salome Jens from 2011 to 2017
Lou Antonio from 2011 to 2017

Associate Artistic Directors
Katherine Cortez from  2021 to 2023

From 1974 to 1981 the following members participated in leading the activities of Actors Studio West
Lonny Chapman
Lou Antonio
Burgess Meredith
Clyde Ventura
Milton Sperling
Lee Grant
Sydney Pollack
Jack Garfein as Executive Director from 1966 to 1974
Lee Strasberg from 1966 to 1981